Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Famous Author's Pets
It seems that many famous authors had pets. These pets were a part of their lives and no doubt a part of their writings. In the case of Stienbeck's  dog, part of rewriting when his dog ate the first copy of Mice and Men.

http://news.google.ca/news/url?sr=1&ct2=...t=2&at=dt0

I can think of some books I studied in school that I wish had been eaten by the author's pets.
It is interesting to see how pets have been important to so many lives.
Somehow I wouldn't have connected the particular pet to the individual author.  Although it makes sense that Mark Twain had a cat. He would be a cat person. Charles Dickens having a Raven is unexpected. His meeting with Edger Allan Poe takes on a different light. Now we know where the Raven comes from.
[Image: IMG_9091.JPG]
Catherine

(12-03-2016, 04:59 PM)Catherine Wrote: I can think of some books I studied in school that I wish had been eaten by the author's pets.

Rotating LOL

I think a few snakes, Guinea Pigs and Border Collies would have fitted nicely in the Jane Austen novels.
No disrespect, but all that "Mr Darcy" stuff would have definitely been livened up by three Border Collies and a Boa Constrictor.
You got that right. A four foot free roaming iguana would have made their endless social gatherings much livelier.

I wish someone's dog had eaten the Great Gatsby.  Even the guinea pigs could have eaten it. Preferably they could have eaten all the copies and chewed up the authors pens to save us from the possibility of him rewriting it.

May be if some authors had a house full of pets they would have spared us their books and saved a few million trees as well.

I do like Stienbeck however and I think his dogs made him a better writer.
Catherine